Wicked Dance Interview

Now that Wicked Dance is available, I’m delighted to have author Olivia Boothe on my blog today to talk about her book and the process of writing it.

***

Me:  What was your inspiration in coming up with the plot in the story?

Olivia:  Growing up, dance was a way for me to escape. My parents worked two jobs to put food on the table, and there were times I would find myself home alone and I’d unleash my inner swan in the middle of our living room. I regret never pursing dance professionally. When writing this story, it only made sense Sara would be a contemporary dancer. It was a way for me to live my dream through her.

Me: That’s both heartbreaking and lovely that you have been able to live your dream vicariously through your writing. How long did it take you to write Wicked Dance?

Olivia: It took me about three years to write the story and two years to polish. A lot of time went into learning about the writing process in general. I joined online writing groups and made some great critique-partners who later became close friends. Juggling a full time job while running a household with three little children also played a role in the amount of time it took to write the novel. My next novel won’t take as long.

Me:  I felt when I was reading Wicked Dance like I was walking down the streets of New York with Sara and Tom, because the setting was so vividly described.  What sort of research went into writing it? Did you have to go to the places or interview people?

Olivia: In terms of research for the story, the internet is a great resource. I didn’t need to travel or interview people, but I have visited some of the locations.

Me:  It felt like you knew the places intimately. And speaking of intimate, tell me more about Tom, your hero. What would you say is one characteristic that endears him to readers?

Olivia: Tom Wright is not your typical wealthy book hottie. While his money plays a role in the story, it doesn’t over power his character. I’ve read my fair share of billionaire bad boy stories and my instinct was to write that type of Alpha, but Tom proved challenging because he refused to be stuffed into a prescribed mold.   The moment he stepped onto the pages of my book, Tom dictated his script. His romantic flare is charming, but it’s his humor that melts me.

Me:  His humor is great, and so is Sara’s. What about Sara? Why would readers like her?

Olivia: When readers meet Sara, she is trying to find her place in the world much like a lot of young women her age—both in the workplace and in love. She makes mistakes and must learn from them. Readers will find a woman who, in search of happiness, discovers that happiness doesn’t simply rest in the arms of the man she loves but in finding her true self. I think she models a good example of what self-worth is for women.

Me:  Agreed. Do you have a favorite quote or scene from the book?

Olivia: Yes. One of my favorite scenes is the first time Sara and Tom meet. Not a lot of people believe in love at first sight or soulmates, but I beg to differ. When I first met my husband, I knew in that instant he was going to be in my life forever. Sometimes, that deep connection can just be with a close friend, that one person you meet and you instantly click because it feels like you’ve known each other forever. I have one of those people in my life too. It may not happen to everyone, but those connections exist.

Me:  Those are magical moments, and I love to read about them. Now, I’ll admit I know the answer to this question, but so everyone else knows, what’s up next for you?

Olivia: I don’t want to keep readers waiting too long for the conclusion of Sara and Tom’s story. I plan to have book 2 finished by next year. I have the bones of a standalone novel about a young woman who is dumped by her fiancé four weeks before her wedding. I also have a fallen angel paranormal romance idea floating around. Lastly, I love reading Urban Fantasy and I’m having a ton of fun dabbling into that genre. That WIP is still in its infancy stages, but hopefully soon I can dedicate more time to fleshing out that storyline.

Me: Excellent! I’ll look forward to book 2 and I can’t wait for the paranormal romance and UF, since you know I love those! Thank you so much for visiting my blog today!

***

I’ve had the privilege of reading Wicked Dance early and loved it! Here’s my review:

This is a beautiful slow burn of a story. The characters are fully realized and feel like people I know (and would like to meet for a drink!). The setting is so detailed I felt like I was walking down the streets of NYC with Sara. I loved the immersion into the characters’ world and the time the author takes to explore their lives before throwing them together. The tempo and pacing of this story is unusual in a time when so much feels rushed and disposable. This is not a disposable story. It’s a story to savor and read again and again.

The main characters have real personal demons. I won’t spoil the story by saying what they are or what they need to do to face them, but both bring serious baggage to their potential relationship. Their romance is messy: in turns hurtful, healing, hilarious and heartbreaking.

There is a resolution here: the author has not left us on a cliffhanger which I deeply appreciated. But there is clearly more to Sara and Tom’s story. I’m very much looking forward to reading the next chapter in their lives!

***

Want to read Wicked Dance for yourself? Here’s where you can find it:

Amazon: http://amzn.to/2wNagQC

Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/2hmJvAs

The Wild Rose Press: http://bit.ly/2fHtBNv

BookStrand: http://bit.ly/2xmqzZ8

Also, there are still a few days to enter Olivia’s giveaway for a $25 gift certificate (ends 25th November), so enter here!

And don’t forget to stalk Olivia on social media. She’s very cool and loves to hear from readers!

Website: https://oliviaboothe.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorOliviaBoothe/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/authoroliviaboothe/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/TheOliviaBoothe

olivia-boothe

bookunleashed-button

Author: ejfrostuk

Writer of sci-fi, urban fantasy and hard romance.

2 thoughts on “Wicked Dance Interview”

Leave a comment

The Kinky Vegan

pleasure within limits

Lascivity

Literate Kink

Maria E. Monteiro: Having too Much Fun

Writing, Reading & Dancing

Orchard Book Club

Books ripe for the picking.....join me in discussions about my latest & favorite books. Have a book you would like reviewing? Drop me an email at orchardbookclub@yahoo.co.uk

Rosie Amber

Book reviewer and garden enthusiast. Updates from my Hampshire garden. Usually talking about books and plants. People do not forget books or flowers that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Notes from the U.K.

Exploring the spidery corners of a culture and the weird stuff that tourist brochures ignore.

The Bookwormery: A Positive Points Blog

Books: reading them, writing them, and using them to balance a wobbly table

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

Cathleen Townsend

Faerie Tales and Fantasy Worlds

Evie Gaughan

Author of The Story Collector & The Lost Bookshop

Dirty Sci-Fi Buddha

Musings and books from a grunty overthinker

Typing With Wet Nails

for the love of romance

Jesse's Studio

Sister Of The Quill

So Many Books, So Little Time

Open a book, Open your mind